(To enlarge a Biography, highlight, cut & paste to a document form. highlight & select font setting)

HALLS, Oluff O
., sheriff of Pierce county, Wisconsin, residing at Ellsworth, was born in Larvik, Norway, April 21, 1861, and was educated in the middle and Latin schools of his native town. He came to the United States, August 26, 1881, beginning his business career as a clerk in the general store of R. N. Jensen at River Falls, Wis., in whose employ he continued for thirteen years. At the end of this time he moved to Ellsworth and engaged in general merchandising with Andrew Nelson, under the firm name of Nelson & Halls. This partnership continued for three years, after which Mr. Halls withdrew and started a store of his own, continuing the same until 1894. Subsequently he closed out the business and traveled three years for Kolliner Brothers & Newman, of Stillwater, Minn. In 1907 his great popularity in the county, together with his reputation for fearless integrity, secured for him the appointment as sheriff to fill the unexpired term of Robert S. Rolson, who died in June of that year. At the time of his appointment it was unanimously conceded that he was the best man that could have been chosen for the position. In addition to his present high office he has seen public service as game warden two years and councilman of the village of Ellsworth seven years. He is a Republican in politics and an active worker in the ranks of that party. As a public official he is judicious and conservative, absolutely just in all his dealings, a man who never went back on any one of his friends. According to his acquaintences he has yet many more honors ahead of him. Mr. Halls was married, May 19, 1885, to Anna Sather, born in Martell, Pierce County, Wis., a daughter of Ole and Johanna Sather. Her father was born in Norway in 1821 and came to the United States with his wife in 1850, residing for a short time in Rock county, Wisconsin, then moving to Pierce County. He died March 17, 1891, highly esteemed by all who knew him. The mother passed away January 29, 1893. Mrs. Halls has been an able helpmate to her husband in all his undertakings. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Halls have been born five children: Oscar A., Victor B., Jay C., Soren J. and Agnes O., all of whom are well thought of by their friends, young and old alike. Mr. Halls comes of good old Norwegian stock. His parents, Ole O. and Karine Halls were born in Gjerpen, Norway, and removed to the United States in 1882, settling at River Falls. The father followed the trade of carpenter until his lamented death in 1895, at the age of sixty-nine years. The widow is till living at River Falls at the noble old age of seventy-four years. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)

HALVORSON Svenung now deceased, was born in Norway in 1831, son of Halvor T. Halvorson, who came to Martell township in 1854 and lived here until his death in 1884. Svenung came to the United States in 1843, settling at Oconomowoc, Wis. In 1854 he moved on 160 acres of land in Martell township, Pierce County, and broke and improved the wild land, making a home for himself and family. He was well liked in the community, being one of the trustees of the Norwegian church and holding several minor township offices. His death, March 24, 1878, was a deep bereavement to all who knew him. His wife was Christiane Haugen, daughter of Peder and Karen Haugen, the former of whom died a the age of eighty, the latter living to be ninety-five years old. In 1854 she came to the United States with her parents and settled on a farm in Martell Township. Some time after the death of her husband she marred Soren Halvorson, a brother of her first husband. Soren came to America at the same time as his brother and has resided in this township since that time, still living on his farm of 200 acres at the ripe old age of eighty-two years. By her first marriage Mrs. Halvorson has seven children-Anna is deceased; Carrie is the wife of Jacob A. Johnson and resides in River Falls, Wis.; Ida is Mrs. Lars Larson, of Lake Crystal, Minn.; mention will be found of Halvor below; Ingeborg is the wife of N. A. Nelson, of Devils Lake, N. D.; Peter resides at Orr, N. D., married Rebecca Larson and has seven children, Selmer, Alpha, Hazel, Enock, Ethel, Gladys and Raymond; Oscar married Olise Krogstad. By her marriage with Soren Halvorson, Mrs. Halvorson had the following children: Svenung resides at home; Martin is a farmer in Martell township, married Sarah Hansen and has three children, Clara, Edna and Harry; Leonora lives at home; Elma is the wife of Harry Cooper, a farmer of North Dakota, and has one child, Byron; Hilda and Norman are at home. Soren Halvorson in early life married for his first wife M. Lien, who died, leaving five children as follows: Nels is a farmer in Martell township, as is also Halvor; Anna is the widow of Nels Hanson and resides at Ulen, Minn.; Dorothy, wife of Even Evenson, ives in Thief River Falls, Minn.: Ingebory, wife of Iver Kasbo, resides at Devils Lake, N. D. Halvor Halvorson resides on section 9, Martell Township, on the old homestead where he was born April 1, 1869. He received his education at the district schools and at the River Falls High School, assisting on the farm as a young man. Several years after the death of his father he came into possession of the home farm, consisting of 160 acres, in sections 4 and 9. He is engaged in general farming and stock raising and has served for the past two years as one of the side supervisor of Martell Township. He was married November 22, 1894, to Trine Nelson, daughter of Andrew Nelson, an early settler of Martell Township, where he and his wife still reside. Mrs. Halvorson passed away September 9, 1902, leaving three children-Alma, Selma and Sevard, Helen having passed away at the age of two years. (Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", volume 1, published 1909).

HAMILTON, Thomas M. E. is now engaged in general grocery business on Main street, River Falls, where he carries a full line of first-class goods. He was born at La Porte, Indiana, September 10, 1859. His father, John A., and his mother, Amanda (Evans) Hamilton, moved to Indianapolis, Ind., when Thomas was a small child. His father was a native of Ohio, was reared to early manhood there, and when about twenty-one years old moved to Indiana. He was a Methodist preacher during his early life and was also engaged in farming to some extent. About 1862 he moved with his family to Wisconsin, settling at Prescott. Here he engaged in the business of a shoemaker and followed that for a few years. Then he removed to Indiana, settling at La Fayette, following his trade, working in a shoe factory. In 1865 he returned to Prescott, Wis. About three years later (in 1868) he took up his home in Hudson, Wis., and here he lived until 1874, conducting his trade. Then he purchased eighty acres of land in St. Croix County and began farming. This farm is how in the city limits of Hammond. He resided here about two years and then came to River Falls, Wis., and engaged in teaming. Later he went into the harness business. He then purchased an eighty-acre farm in Kinnickinnic Township and farmed for seventeen or eighteen years. He then moved to Minneapolis, Minn., and with his son, Thomas, engaged in the grocery business under the firm name of J. A. Hamilton & Son. They continued the business about eight years. He then returned to River Falls, when he died in 1903, at the age of seventy-two years. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He was a Republican in politics until the last five years of his life and then he voted the Prohibitionist ticket. His wife was a member of the same church and died seven or eight years before her husband. She was born in Indiana and grew to womanhood there, and remained at home until her marriage. She had six children, four of whom are now living. The subject of this memoir obtained his education in the schools of Hudson and Hammond, Wis. He assisted his father on the farm and when he was bout sixteen years old took employment in a flour mill. At the age of nineteen he went to Minneapolis, Minn., and learned the miller's trade. He followed this business in different places in Minnesota for some time. He then returned to River Falls and clerked for T. H. Daniels. He then moved to California, lived there about eighteen months, then engaged in the grocery business at Minneapolis, Minn., continued it for five years and then returned to River Falls and established his present business. October 26, 1882, Mr. Hamilton married Elizabeth Hurley, daughter of Henry P. and Albina Hurley, of Stillwater, Minn. Mrs. Hamilton was educated in the schools of Stillwater, Minn., and remained at home until her marriage. Mrs. Hamilton was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. They have two children. Herbert H. is engaged in his father's store, and Albina A. is attending the State Normal School at River Falls. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909

HANCOCK, Joseph Warren, a gentleman of noble character, lofty worth and distinguished attainments, was born in Worcester, Vt., June 30, 1848, being descended from one of the old and notable families of the Green Mountain State. He attended the public schools and attained the rudiments of the education, which in after life assisted him so greatly in his endeavors. In 1854 he came to Red Wing, Minn., with his father, David Hancok, still continuing his education. After mastering the common branches he entered Hamline University, where he was distinguished for his proficiency in his studies as well as for his good fellowship and popularity. Deciding to take up the study of medicine he went east and entered the School of Physicians and Surgeons, at Buffalo, N. Y., where he was graduated with high honors, in 1870. Shortly after graduation he took up the active practice of medicine in Maiden Rock, Wis., remaining for ten years. In 1877 he came to Ellsworth, Wis., having been appointed county clerk to fill the unexpired term of Hans B. Warner, who had been elected secretary of state. Dr. Hancock in 1878 was elected to the position to which he had previously been appointed and served for several years. In the meantime he spent his spare time in the contemplation of law, thus fitting him admirably to fill the position of county judge, to which he was elected in 1885 and reelected four years later. From 1892 to 1895 he was president of the state board of health, and among other positions he occupied were those of president of Bank of Ellsworth, president of the Pierce county fair and treasurer of the school board, all of which positions he held at the time of his death. Dr. Hancock was a Mason of high degree, belonging to Commandery No. 6 practically the father of Hancock lodge, of Ellsworth. He was married December 19, 1877, to Marie A. Besancon, of Red Wing, Minn. Mrs Hancock is a woman of charming personality and wide education, and was an able helpmeet of her husband in all his undertakings. Dr. Hancock died on Thursday, December 28, at 8 o'clock in the evening. He had been in failing health for some years, and the winter previous to his death he visited the South with apparently good results, only to have a relapse, which proved fatal. He was a patient sufferer, conscious to the last, and many a strong man and woman went out from the bedside of this dying man, with new courage and zeal to live their own lives aright. A large concourse of mourning friends followed his body to the grave and the encomiums heaped upon him were befitting a man who in the truest sense of the word had been one of God's own noblemen. As a practitioner he was sympathetic and generous, consulting always the need of the patient rather than the benefit of his own pocketbook; as a judge he was honest, impartial and fair to all; as a friend he was jolly, kind-hearted and true, a rare storyteller, a true confidant, a loyal companion and an unusual entertainer; as a literary man, he was a lover and reciter of poetry, and his voice melting in the tender words of some of the great masterpieces still rings in the ears of those who loved him; as a citizen he was progressive, and as a husband, he was tender, affectionate, considerate and living. Combining the finest qualities of mind, body and soul, he was one of those men whose death leaves a vacancy in the community that can never be filled. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909).

HANSEN,Charles M. merchant of Ellsworth, Wis., was born in the township of Ellsworth, January 7, 1872. He was educated in the Normal school of River Falls; the Minneapolis Academy, and also the State University of Minnesota. He assisted in the work of the home farm until he was about twenty years old, when he engaged as a clerk in the mercantile business at Ellsworth for A. J. Nelson & Co., then Nelson & Halls, and later returned to A. J. Nelson. Upon the death of Mr. Nelson he took charge of his business, and in 1898 purchased it, conducting it in his own name until 1907, when he took into partnership his brother Richard S., and since then the business has been continued under the firm name of Hansen Bros. The parents of our subject are Rasmus and Bertha Hansen, both natives of Norway. The father was twenty-one years of age when he immigrated to the United States in 1865, and the mother was but three years old. Mr. Hansen settled first in Dodge county, Wisconsin, and worked on a farm for a short time. Later he purchased a timber tract of land in Ellsworth Township, and cleared off eighty acres and brought it under cultivation. Here he made a home for himself and family, and is still living engaged in general farming and dairying. He had added to the original purchase and now has 280 acres of land in Ellsworth Township. He has been a member of the board of supervisors for a number of years, and he and his wife are members of the United Lutheran church. In his politics he is a Republican. They are the parents of six children, all born in Ellsworth Township. Henry A. is a farmer and resides in Ellsworth Township. Charles M. is a merchant. Peter B. is a farmer of Ellsworth Township. Richard S. is a merchant. Otto is a farmer and works on the home place. Amelia is the wife of O. M. Anderson, a farmer of Ellsworth Township. Charles M. Hansen is a Republican in his politics, a member of the Norwegian Lutheran church, and foreman of the township of Ellsworth church, and township So. Rush River church. He has been on the village board and is now serving on the school board. November 29, 1900, Mr. Hansen was married to Ida A. Olson, who was born in Dodge county, Wisconsin, daughter of Holver and Helvig Olson. Mr. Olson came to Pierce county about 1882, and farmed in Ellsworth township until his death, about 1902. His widow is still living on the home farm. Mrs. Hansen was educated in the district schools of Ellsworth Township, and the State Normal at River Falls. She taught school a few years before her marriage. She has two children. Robert H. born March 22, 1902, and Evelyn Constance, born May 19, 1906. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909).

HANSEN, Martin
is a native of Norway, born October 28, 1840. He obtained his education in the schools of Norway, assisted on his father's farm, and learned the trade of carpenter, which he followed, being also engaged as a sawyer in a sawmill for some time. He came to America with his parents in 1865, his brother Rasmus having come one year earlier. They were six weeks in making the ocean trip. His parents, Rasmusson and Margaretta Hansen, settled in Dodge county, Wisconsin, and remained a short time, afterward moving to Pierce county, Wisconsin, with their son, Rasmus, and living with him on his farm in Ellsworth township until their death, being both about eighty years old at the time they passed away. The subject of this sketch remained in Dodge County, Wis., for about six years, and ran a custom sawmill for Deloes Durkey. He then moved to Pierce County, settled in Ellsworth Township, and purchased his present farm. It was all timber land then, but Mr. Hansen cleared it and has nearly all of it under cultivation. He has a good farm dwelling, barns and other buildings for his stock and grain, his being one of the model farms of this part of the county. He is a Republican and at the present time is treasurer of the school board of Ellsworth township. He is a member of the United Norwegian church. Mr. Hansen married Jacobine Peterson, who was born in Norway and came to the United States the same time as our subject and from the same town. Her parents came four years later, in 1869. Her father's name was Aslek, and her mother, Maria Peterson. They lived with our subject until their death. Mrs. Hansen was a member of the United Norwegian church and quite a church worker, and also of the church societies. She died July 2, 1897. She was a devoted wife and a kind, loving mother. Mr. and Mrs. Hansen have had five children. Maria and Anna died in infancy. Martin H., born in Dodge county, Wisconsin, and a farmer of Ellsworth township, married Berntine Erickson, and they have had the following children: Mabel J., Inga, Maria, Willmey, Arthur and Elmer, now deceased. Anthon H., born in Ellsworth Township, January 11, 1877, educated in the district schools and has always lived at home. Emma J., born in Ellsworth Township, is now the wife of Bernard Stein of Martell Township, a farmer. They have one child, Julia B., and one died in infancy. After the death of Mrs. Hansen her maiden sister, Anetta Peterson, kept house for Mr. Hansen and made it her home until her death, April 29, 1907, at the age of sixty-two years. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)

HANSEN, Rasmus
resides on his farm of 280 acres on sections 3, 2, and 10, Ellsworth Township, the home being on section 3. He was born in Norway, April 20, 1843, and in 1864 came to the United States, settling in Dodge county, Wisconsin, where he remained for three years, working on a farm. In 1867 he moved to Pierce county, Ellsworth Township, and bought an eighty-acre farm on section 3, where he has lived for forty-one years engaged in farming and stock raising. Mr. Hansen belongs to the Norwegian Lutheran church of Ellsworth Township, and is a Republican in politics. He was supervisor of the township for a number of years. Mr. Hansen married Bertha Peterson May 22, 1868, a native of Norway, who came to America with her parents when a small child, in 1850, and attended the common schools of Dodge county, Wisconsin, where her parents settled. Mr. and Mrs. Hansen are the parents of six children: Henry A., Charles M., Peter B., Raymond S., Otto and Amelia, all born on the old homestead and educated in the schools of Pierce county. Henry A. resides on section 10, Ellsworth Township, farms part of the home place, married Patria Jenson and has one child, John Raymond. Peter B. resides on his father's farm, section 2, Ellsworth Township. He married Clara B. Anderson, and has one child, Beatrice M. Otto resides on the home place. He married Alma Johanna Anderson, sister of Mrs. Peter B. Hansen. Amelia married Ole M. Anderson, brother of Otto's wife. Mr. Anderson is a farmer and lives on sections 1 and 2, of Ellsworth Township. Mr. Hansen has made all his property by his own honest efforts. He has seen a great many changes made in the county, in fact, has done his share towards making Pierce County what it is today. He is extensively engaged in dairy farming and furnishes a large quantity of milk and cream for the dairies. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909).

HANSEN, Richard S.,
junior member of Hansen Bros., general merchants of Ellsworth, Wis., was born in the township of Ellsworth, November 4, 1879. He attended the district schools and worked on his father's farm until he was nineteen years old, when he started out for himself. He began as a clerk in A. J. Nelson's store at Ellsworth, and when his brother Charles purchased the stock of goods from Mr. Nelson, he clerked for him for a time, until he was taken into partnership in 1907, and the firm name was changed to Hansen Bros. They are now engaged in general merchandise business, at the east end of Ellsworth, where they carry a complete line of well selected stock. Our subject belongs to the Norwegian Lutheran church, and votes the Republican ticket. He was married October 3, 1907, to Mary E. Hines, a daughter of F. W. Hines, an early settler of Pierce County, now engaged in the elevator and grain business at Ellsworth. Mrs. Hansen attended the district schools of her native township, El Paso, and also the schools at St. Paul. She remained at home until her marriage, keeping books for her father part of the time. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909).

was born in Kentucky, November 21, 1824. He moved with his parents to Illinois in
1832 and to Prescott, Wis., in 1847, where he pre-empted a homestead of 160 acres. He married Lizzie
Johnson in 1858 at Alton, Ill. Submitted by Pat Casey.

HARTUNG, George, pastor of the German Methodist church, Red Wing. Was born in Thuringen, Germany on November 18, 1843. He accompanied his parents to the United States in 1857, who settled in Washington county, Minnesota, where he worked with his father until 1864, when he procured a scholarship in the Wallace (German) College at Berea, Ohio. He attended that institution two years and returned to Washington county where he prosecuted his studies while working on his father's farm. He was married September 18, 1869 to Charlotte Spangenberg. She was born in Thuringen, Germany, November 9, 1843. His first labors in the ministry were those of a local preacher; his first charge was at St. Croix mission, Prescott, Wisconsin, where he remained until regularly ordained a minister of the Gospel, September 28, 1873. At that time he went to Crow River mission, Wright county, Minnesota. At the expiration of two years he was sent to Salem, West St. Paul, having been created an elder on September 26, 1875. In October of 1876, he came to Red Wing and accepted his present charge. They have four children living -- Amelia, Lydia, William and Alfred. George F., born in Washington county September 6, 1870 died the 24th of the same month. Mrs. Hartung is also a member of the German Methodist Church. History of Goodhue County, Red Wing, MN 1878.

HAUGEN, HON. NILS P., congressman of the Eighth district, P. O. River Falls, was born in Modum, Norway, March 9, 1849. His ancestors were farmers and mechanics. His grandfather, Nils Haugen, was a blacksmith. His parents, Peder and Karen Haugen (the latter born in Stensrud), came to America in 1854, and after residing one year in Rock county, Wis., removed in the spring of 1855 to Pierce county, and bought 120 acres of government land, of which Peder Haugen still holds the original patent. The aged parents of our subject are yet living on the farm. As a boy Nils Haugen attended the common schools at Martel, Wis., and afterward the Decorah Lutheran Norwegian seminary, for more than two years. Later he taught school, which occupation he followed for a little over two years. He began the study of law at Ann Arbor university in 1872, and graduated in the class of 1874. He located at River Falls, and became a member of the firm of Morse, Smith & Haugen. In the spring of 1874 he was appointed court stenographer, and retained the position for seven years, reporting for Judges Humphrey, Bundy and Barron. He was elected as a republican to the assembly for 1879, and re-elected for 1880. In 1882 he was elected railroad commissioner of the state receiving 83,507 votes, against 69,870 for Ambrose Hoffman, democrat; 11,870 for John Nader, prohibitionist, and 6,601 for T. G. Brunson, greenbacker. He was re-elected in 1884, when he received 162,116 votes against 145,001 for Conrad Kretz, democrat; 7,962 for Henry Sanford, prohibitionist, and 3,346 for John Kiefer, greenbacker. At a special election held January 18, 1887, he was elected to the Fiftieth congress, for the term beginning March 4, 1887, receiving 8,159 votes, against 6,803 votes for Samuel C. Johnson, democrat, and 2,620 votes for Peter Truax, prohibitionist. He was re-elected to the Fifty-first and Fifty-second congresses, at which latter election he received 17,609 votes, against 15,261 for W. F. Bailey, democrat, and 2,911 for W. C. Jones, prohibitionist. Mr. Haugen married Belle Rasmussen, a native of Hudson, Wis., and one child, Constance, has blessed this union. --Taken from the "Historical and Biographical Album of the Chippewa Valley Wisconsin.

HAWN, HON. CHAS. A., lumberman, Rock Elm, Pierce county, was born at Ellisburg, N. Y., November 5, 1828. His paternal grandfather, John Hawn, was a native of Germany and came to America in 1785; his wife, a Mohawk-Dutch woman, barely escaped death at the hands of an Indian during the Revolution. Their son Adam was born June 21, 1796, and married Eliza Lewis, a native of Oswego county, N. Y., of French and English descent. Their children were: Charles A., Cornelia (Mrs. J. Persons), Jerome P., and Danford H. Charles A. attended the common schools and in 1848 removed with his parents to Neosho, Wis., where he learned the miller's trade, and later carried on a saw-mill. He spent one season (1859) in the Rocky mountains, mining and prospecting. The claim which he worked was afterward sold for a large sum. In 1867 Mr. Hawn came to Rock Elm, Wis., shipping the machinery for a saw-mill, by boat to Maiden Rock. In six weeks after is arrival the mill was running. This mill and a general store he carried on in company with S. J. Fox for about four years. The lumber business is still extensively carried on under the name of C. A. Hawn & Sons. They have another mill at Olivet, Wis. They also manufacture cheese boxes and operate a feed grinder and planing-mill. Mr. Hawn first "squatted" on lands of the C., St. P., M. & O. railroad, which he purchased a few years later. The greater part of the village has been built on this land. He now owns 340 acres. He has devoted considerable attention to the study of minerals and mining and is an expert prospector. In 1887, with W. W. Newell, he began prospecting for gold on Plum creek, which flows through his farm. The labors were rewarded by a production of several valuable "colors" and specimens, also numerous garnets, and several diamonds. The latter have been examined by experts and pronounced genuine. Further investigations demonstrated that there were numerous valuable deposits along the bed of the stream. The Land & Flour Gold Company was incorporated in 1887, but owing to certain difficulties in the work, no mines are being worked at present. April 20, 1855, Mr. Hawn married Miss Louisa Priscilla White, and four children have blessed this union, namely: Jay L., Ed. L., Eliza and Cassius D. Jay L. Hawn married, September 14, 1879, Miss Luella E. Dutcher, and has one child, Charles E.; his wife died March 2, 1888. Ed. L. Hawn married, December 25, 1884, Miss Emma Melcher, and now resides at Olivet, Wis. He has served as clerk of court in Pierce county. The third child, Eliza, is now the wife of C. W. Merrill, M. D. December 25, 1889, Cassius D., the fourth child, married Miss Mary E. Richardson, and has one son, Ray. All of Mr. Hawn's sons were educated at Rock Elm public school, and are associated with him in business. All are prohibitionists and members of the I. O. G. T. Ed. L. also belongs to the I. O. O. F. Politically Mr. Hawn was for many years a republican, but for a few years past has supported the prohibition movement. He has served his town as chairman of the board, and in 1877 represented the district in the assembly. He is a member of the A. F. and A. M., and a gentleman who commands the respect of a large circle of acquaintances. --Taken from the "Historical and Biographical Album of the Chippewa Valley Wisconsin.

HEALY. Lyman & Ezra & Manley (Civil War) known far and wide as the Healy brothers, are not only descended from an ancient family, but have themselves done their country distinguished service in times of both war and peace. The father, Manly Healy, was born January 2, 1801, on the shores of Lake Champlain, in the state of Vermont, and became a witness of the War of 1812. During his early life he was a contractor and later in life followed farming. He helped in the construction of the New York and Erie road, the first railroad laid in New York State. The building of the mile which he undertook as his share of the work required the services of forty en and forty teams nearly an entire winter, and the pay which Mr. Healy received was just $40. He married Betsy Newton, daughter of Reuben and Eunice (Manly) Newton, who was born in Onondaga county, New York, in 1804, and passed away in 1872 on the old homestead in River Falls Township. Manly Healy passed away in 1875, also on the old homestead. His father's name was Ezra Healy. His stepfather was named Morgan. He was a soldier in the Revolution and the family still preserves as a relic of that great conflict a powder horn about a foot long, which will hold a poud of powder. Unto Manly and Betsy Healy were born eight children - Roxena was born in 1827 and died in 1897; Lyman was born in Mansfield, N.Y., in 1829, and died October 7, 1908; Mary was born in 1831 and died in 1852; Manly was born in 1833 and died in 1889; Amelia was born in 1836 and died in 1902; Ezra was born in Mansfield, N.Y., in 1839; Emily was born in 1841 and died in 1904; Helen, born in 1851, is living with her brother, Ezra, none of the four ever having married. Before the death of Amelia there were four in the family who had lived together for more than fifty-two years. Lyman and Ezra were brought up on the farm in New York state and attended the common schools. In those days the teacher received about $1 a week actual cash, and boarded around in the homes of the various families whose children he taught. The first school, however, that Ezra attended was made up of Indians with the exception of himself and his brothers and sisters. Ezra worked on the farm in his early days, came to Beloit, Rock county, Wis., in 1844, and to Pierce county in 1856. Lyman came to St. Croix valley in 1851, and in 1852 took up eighty acres of government land on section 5, River Falls Township, adjoining the present home. The homestead he purchased from William Wilton, who had taken it up when it was government land. Wilton sold it to Willis McKuhn, who was killed while a colonel in the Civil War, and the land reverted to Wilton, who sold it to Lyman. The brothers now own 240 acres of land, 160 acres of which is in section 4. This tract of land was obtained from the government by a man named Swackhammer, but as he did not appear to claim it the county deeded it to Lyman Healy. Lyman and Manly were both in the Civil War, enlisting in 1861 and remained until 1865. Manly was in Company F, Thirteenth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, and Ezra was in Company A of the Thirtieth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry. Manly spent two and a half years at Fort Sully helping to build the same, while Ezra helped to build Fort Rice. They were in no active service, their companies being used for guarding provisions and building fortifications. Since the war they have been Republicans; before that conflict they were Jackson Democrats. Lyman has been chairman of the town board for four years. He was once before elected to the office, but was prevented from serving by ill health. He has also served for eighteen years as school treasurer, a position which Ezra held for ten years. Both are among the most deeply respected and highly honored men in the community. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909

HESLIN, George T., one of the leading Democrats of Pierce county, was born in Middletown, Conn., in 1852, son of Terance and Ann (Coulin) Heslin, who came to Wisconsin from the Nutmeg state in 1856, settling at Merton, Waukesha county. In 1864 the family moved to the village of Waukesha in the same county and in 1871 located in Rock Elm, Pierce County, Wisconsin. The father died at Merton, Wis., in 1857 and the mother passed away in Maiden Rock in 1893. George T. received his education in the common schools and was brought up on the farm. In 1876 he came to Maiden Rock and has since been engaged in the mercantile business, being treasurer of the Maiden Rock Mercantile Company, which does a large business in this locality. Under both Cleveland's administrations he was postmaster; for five successive years he was on the village board as president; for several terms he was on the county board, and at various periods has filled the different town, school and village offices. In 1908 he received a unanimous vote as supervisor of the township. In 1900 he was sergeant-at-arms of the state delegation to the Democratic national convention at Kansas City and he has the distinction of being a personal friend of William Jennings Bryan. Mr. Heslin was married in 1881 to Laura Richards, a native of New York State, but a resident of Maiden Rock at the time of her marriage. By this union there are two children: Julia May, born in 1883, married Charles T. Murphy, of Spokane, Wash., manager of the supply department in the Inland Empire Railroad Company. Carroll was born in 1900 and attends the public schools. Our subject was a candidate in the Democratic primaries for state treasurer and carried seventy out of seventy-one counties in the state. He also made a good run for the office against the Republican candidate who was elected. Reference: (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909)

HESS, LEWIS A. (Civil War
) , farmer, P. O. Olive, Pierce county, is a son of Henry Hess who was born in 1816, and married Margaret D., daughter of Lewis and Margaret Hess. Nine children were born to them, namely: Lewis A., Henry (deceased), Mary A. (Mrs. Wiesemann deceased), Philip I., William C., Frederick, Sarah (Mrs. Connor, who lives in Waukegan, Ill.), John and Lizzie (deceased). Lewis A. was born in Utica, N. Y., Decmeber 12, 1842. His parents came to Racine, Wis., when he was but two years old. His father was a blacksmith and did all the work for J. I. Case for a number of years, then went on a farm near Racine. In 1862 Lewis A. enlisted in Co. D., Twenty-sixth Wisconsin volunteer infantry, and was assigned to the army of the Potomac. He was wounded three times (foot, arm and shoulder) at the battle of Gettysburg, and was sent to the hospital at Philadelphia. After getting well he was transferred to Co. F, Sixteenth regiment volunteer reserve corps, and was kept on extra or detailed duty in the states of New York and Pennsylvania. He was discharged July 8, 1865, and came to Racine, and in 1867 came to Pierce county and took up a homestead in the wilderness, then returned to Racine and married Augusta, daughter of Wm. and Amelia Brose, and came back to make his new home. In 1872 he lost his wife, who left him two children, Jennie, now deceased, and Henry L. In 1873 he married a sister of his first wife and she bore him three children: Nellie (deceased), Edward A. and Arthur Wm. He owns a fine farm and has been changing to dairying. He has built a cheese factory, established a fine reputation for first-class cheese, and has orders for more than he can make. He is one of the leading men in the township, keeps well posted on dairy matters and all topics of the day, and has one of the finest libraries in the town. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, the order of I. O. O. F., and is a republican in politics. --Taken from the Historical and Biographical Album of the Chippewa Valley Wisconsin.

HEYERDAHL,Christopher - FROM BEGINNINGS OF PIERCE COUNTY - Much of Martell Township was settled by Norwegians.  One of the first to come was Christopher Heyerdahl, who was born in 1822 in Prestegaard, Gudbrandsdalen, Norway.  He was well educated for those times, having graduated from the Latin School in Christiana and the Commercial School in Berlin, Germany.  He emigrated to Jefferson county, Wisconsin in 1854, clerked in a store for a time and married Margaret Karlstrom (Kolstrom) of Rock River, then bought his bride to Martell in 1856 where he settled 160 acres of land.  He was a man of great influence and was consulted on all business and legal matters in the neighborhood.  He held the office of town clerk for more than 25 years and was Register of Deeds and Clerk of Court for Pierce County, resigning the latter to enlist and serve in the Civil War until its termination.  He was the father of seven children, one of whom is still living in Martell Township—Elizabeth, whose husband is Halvor Herum. Mrs. Arnold Anderson of Ellsworth Twp. and Mrs. Fred MaGee, who being widowed, lives at home, are her daughters. Submitted by Cliff Watt.

HEYERDAHL, Christopher Glerup Naskau (Civil War) was born in Lessoe, Prestejaard, Gulberandsdalen, Norway, December 26, 1822. He attended the common schools, graduated from a Latin school in Christiania, Norway, and then attended a commercial school at Berlin, Prussia, Germany. He came to America in 1854 and located at Rock River, Jefferson county, Wisconsin, where he secured a position as clerk in the general store. January 27, 1856, he was married to Margaret Kaalstrom at Rock River. Shortly afterward he brought his bride to Martell Township, Pierce County, and entered a filing, taking up 160 acres of government land. He became imbued with the patriotism of his adopted country and August 16, 1864, left wife and home to fight the battles of the Stars and Stripes. He saw service in the Thirty-eighth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry and remained with is company until mustered out, June 2, 1865, at the termination of the war. Returning he took up civil life again and made a great success of farming. He was the leader of his neighborhood, and no one who lived in his vicinity ever thought of undertaking any important action without first consulting Mr. Heyerdahl. Upon all financial, business and legal matters his judgment was sure to be correct, and no one who followed his advice ever went far wrong. He was a Republican in politics, and the esteem in which he was held by his fellow citizens is shown by the fact that he was town clerk of Martell for twenty-five or thirty years. He was also register of deeds of Pierce County and resigned the position of clerk of the courts to enter the army. He was a devout member of the Lutheran church and did much to assist the progress of that church in this vicinity. He died at his residence in Martell, October 21, 1898, of heart disease, and was buried in the Rush River Cemetery, his friend, Rev. M Thorson, conducting the funeral services. His death left a real vacancy in the neighborhood. Men, women and children followed his body to the grave with sad hearts, everyone feeling that the community had indeed lost a warm friend, a faithful adviser, a true man and a noble character. Mr. Heyerdahl had seven children, five of whom are living. All were born on the old homestead in Martell. Nils was born April 24, 1857; Erick, January 1, 1859; Hans, July 24, 1861; Elizabeth, December 8, 1863; Margaret, April 12, 1866; Louise, February 11, 1869, and Frederick, November 4, 1871. He was educated at the public schools. Nils lives in River Falls, Wis.; Erick is a farmer at Daisy, N. D.; Hans died in 1908; Elizabeth, married to H. O. Haloorson, of River Falls township, is deceased; Margaret married Iver Eammond, of Trempealeau County, Wisconsin, a farmer; Louise married Haloor Herum, of Martell township, also a farmer. All the children had the advantages of good common school educations. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909

HEYERDAHL, Nils worked in the neighborhood of his father's home for several years. In May 1878, he secured a situation as apprentice in the George Fortune mill at River Falls, Wis., where he has remained until the present time, now holding the position he has of head miller. He was married October 28,, 1886, to Otella Haloorson, of River Falls. He has no children, but has adopted his niece Hilda, the daughter of his oldest sister, Elizabeth. Hilda lives with her foster parents and attends the public schools. Nils Heyerdahl is a member of the Ezekiel Lutheran church, of River Falls, having been trustee of that church for three terms of three years each, stills serving in that capacity. He is a member of Kinnickinnic lodge, No. 30, United Foresters, of River Falls, and Glen Colony Lodge of the Beavers, of River Falls. He is independent in politics and is highly thought of as progressive, respected and well informed gentleman. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909

NEXT ("H" - page two)