SURNAMES BEGINNING WITH "C"
(To enlarge a Biography, highlight, cut & paste to a document form. highlight & select font setting)
William Allen, was for thirty years a
schoolteacher in this county and during that period many of the
successful men and women of the valley have passed under his
tuition. A thorough scholar himself, patient and
painstaking with his pupils, he is held in loving regard by all
who have received the advantages of his instruction. He was
born in Potsdam, St. Lawrence County, New York, July 16, 1852,
son of Levi H. and Angeline (Beardslee) Cadwell, the former of
whom was born in 1825 and died in 1904 and the latter of whom was
born in 1821 and died in 1884. William A. came to this
township with his parents and was raised here, attending the
public schools. Upon his marriage he discontinued teaching
in the summers, but continued his winter instruction until 1902,
when he retired. He now has a pretty and comfortable home
and 120 acres of land on section twenty-nine, Clifton Township.
Mr. Cadwell still holds the position of town clerk, having served
in that capacity for twenty-four years. For eight years he
has been chairman of the poor commissioners of Pierce County.
In politics he is a Republican. In 1882 Mr. Cadwell was
married to Della McIlroy, by whom he had four children-Leslie R.
is assistant cashier in the bank at Prescott; Ethel D. is
teaching; Claude is attending the River Falls high school, and
Blanche is deceased. In 1894 Mr. Cadwell was married to Ida C.
Hammond. (Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley",
published in 1909). Submitted by Pat Casey.
CAIRNS, George was a native of New York state, born at Walkill, Orange County February 12, 1826. He attended the public schools of his native town, afterward working on his father's farm. In 1849, two years after attaining his majority, he came West, settling first near Madison, Wis., where he combined the profession of school teaching with the trade of carpenter. Many of the old residences, which he built in that city, are still standing, their durable qualities testifying to his conscientious work. Mr. Cairns came to Pierce county, Wisconsin, in 1853, looking for a location, and the next year he took up his residence at River Falls, in the same county, continuing his occupation of carpenter. He built the first hotel, the old Greenwood house, then located on the west side of Main street, and also a number of other buildings that are still standing. While at River Falls he worked in the postoffice and served as justice of the peace. When the meeting of citizens was called to organize the old academy, Mr. Cairns was honored by being chosen as clerk of the gathering. After remaining in River Falls several years Mr. Cairns was elected register of deeds and moved to Prescott, then the county seat of Pierce County. Upon the removal of the county seat to Ellsworth he again moved and spent his remaining days in that place. For many years he was a justice of the peace at Ellsworth, serving also for some time as deputy clerk of the district court. He was deputy treasurer under William Winchester, and as surveyor of the county he acquired an intimate knowledge of its surface, becoming personally acquainted with every family for many miles around. He was also agent for large tracts of wild land in both Pierce and St. Croix counties, and many of the original settlers secured their homes through him. His career as a schoolteacher made him an ardent friend of education, and in his earlier days he served for some time as a member of the school board. When the Bank of Ellsworth was started he was one of its organizers and remained a director until the time of his death. Mr. Cairns was much interested in fruit growing and believed that the fruit growing industry of the county should receive wider attention. His work as superintendent of the fruit department of the county fair, of which he was one of the organizers, had a wide influence in this respect, and since his death seedling apples from the orchard he planted have taken high premiums at the exhibits of the horticultural societies of both Wisconsin and Minnesota. March 26, 1866, Mr. Cairns was married to Abbie S. Leavitt, daughter of Orrin and Abbie (Bates) Leavitt, born in Turner, Me. Mrs. Cairns attended the public schools of her native state, acquiring a broad education. She came West in 1857 and taught school at Prescott, Clifton and Ellsworth, all in Pierce County. The teaching corps of the county lost an able member when she married Mr. Cairns and took up domestic duties. The union was blessed with four children, all born at the old homestead at Ellsworth, where Mrs. Cairns still resides. Three are still living. William has been a professor in the State University at Madison, Wis., for the past fifteen years. He married Dora Bateman, of Ellsworth, a daughter of Samuel Bateman, an early settler. Professor Cairns has two children, William and George. Gertrude is a graduate of the River Falls High School and of the State University. She has taught school at Durand and Superior, this state. Rolla U. is a practicing physician at River Falls, this state. He graduated from the State University and received his medical education at the Northwestern Medical College at Chicago. His first practice was at River Falls. George Wilfred died at the age of five years. George W. Cairns died February 22, 1900, and is buried in Maple Grove Cemetery, Ellsworth. He was a hard working, upright man. In the pursuance of the duties of public office his integrity was above reproach, and his domestic life was so pleasant as to be almost ideal. In his death the community lost a valued citizen. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley" published in 1909)
CANFIELD, Richard L. residing at the village of Ellsworth, where he is holding the office of justice of the peace, was born in Geneva, Seneca County, N.Y., December 8,1833. He attended the public schools of Maumee City, O., where his parents moved when he was four years old. His father's name was Clement G. and his mother's name was Elizabeth Ballou before her marriage. They were natives of New York State. Richard's father was a ship carpenter and followed that trade during his residence in New York and Ohio. He died at the age of forty-two and his wife passed away in Dayton, O., at the age of ninety-two. The subject of this sketch left home when he was about fifteen years old and learned the shoemakers' trade at Maumee City, O. He came west with his mother in 1854 and settled in Ripon, Wis. He remained here but two years and in 1856 settled in what is now known as Bay City, Isabelle township, for a short time, when he returned to Ohio in 1857 and engaged in house painting for four years. In 1861 he returned to Bay City, Pierce County, Wis., and engaged at his trade of a shoemaker for a number of years. In 1867 Mr. Canfield started a shoe shop and continued in that business at Ellsworth for six or seven years and then he took to house painting, which he followed the balance of active life. He is now holding the office of police magistrate and justice of the peace and has held the former position for four years and the latter for twenty-six years. Richard L. Canfield and Cornelia Fleming were united in marriage in 1857. Mrs. Canfield was born in Ohio and educated there. They reside on West Main Street in a pleasant home, which Mr. Canfield erected about 1886. They have had nine children, five of whom are living as follows: Charles E. married Ida Tabor, of Trim Belle township, and they have one child Edith; Bruce P. married Alice Erickson; the next child was Benjamin D.; William R. married Kate Bach, who died leaving three children, Lucile, William and Katherine; Frank L. married Florence Cornman and they have three children, Leach, Freeman and Estella. The deceased children of our subject are as follows: Clement G., died at the age of fourteen; Wallace C. died at the age of two years; Nettie was eleven years old at the time of her death; Myrtle lived twenty five years and was the wife of Joseph Cotuan. Mr. Canfield cast his first presidential vote for John C. Fremont and he has voted the Republican ticket ever since. (Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909). Submitted by Pat Casey.
CARMICHAEL, THOMAS, (deceased) was born near Londonderry, Ireland, December 24, 1827, and died in Maiden Rock township, Pierce county, June 17, 1882. He was a son of Thomas and Mary Carmichael. He received but little education, his early boyhood being spent upon a farm, in his native town. At eighteen years of age he came to America, and worked at Pittsburgh, and later at Corsica, Jefferson county, Pa. In 1859 he came to Maiden Rock and purchased 160 acres of the present homestead. To this farm numerous additions were made from time to time, and at his death he owned a well-improved farm of 440 acres. For several seasons after coming here Mr. Carmichael worked at the Eau Galle mills; later he owned a share in a mill on Plum Creek. He also spent considerable time in traveling through the South and West. Mr. Carmichael married in April, 1863, Ann Elizabeth Moore, whose death occurred April 15, 1864. She left one son, John, now of Ono, Wis. Mr. Carmichael was again married, July 3, 1865, to Eliza, daughter of Moses and Sarah J. Knear. Three children were born to this union: Mary Elizabeth, Allan E. and Thomas David, all of whom reside upon the homestead. The subject of this sketch was reared in the Presbyterian faith. In politics he was a democrat and served the town as supervisor, and filled various other positions of public trust. He was a member of Ono Grange, P. of H., which passed resolutions of sympathy and regret at his decease. His honesty and hospitality were proverbial. "As honest as Tom Carmichael," was a familiar expression in the neighborhood for many years. --Taken from the "Historical and Biographical Album of the Chippewa Valley Wisconsin.
CARRUTHERS, John, (Civil War) for over fifty-two years has been a resident of Pierce county, Wisconsin. He came here in 1856 and worked for the Powell Brothers until breaking out of the Civil war, when he enlisted in Company A, Twelfth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, and served for three years, and then re-enlisted in Company F, Fourth United States Veteran Volunteers. He took part in a great many of the engagements of the western campaign, and received his discharge at Louisville, Ky. Mr. Carruthers was born in Scotland, May 12, 1832, and came to the United States in 1852. He was educated in the public schools of his native place and assisted on the farm of his father, Peter Carruthers, who died in Canada at about eighty-five years of age. The mother died in Scotland in 1852, a few weeks after our subject arrived in America. Upon coming to this country, Mr. Carruthers settled in St. Lawrence County, New York, where he remained about for years, and then he removed to Wisconsin. After he returned from the war he purchased 120 acres of land in Clifton Township, which he farmed until he moved to the city of River Falls, in 1905. He married Elizabeth Porteous. She was born in St. Lawrence County, New York, and there she was educated. Her parents were David and Margaret Porteous, who both died in New York State. Mr. Carruthers returned to his old home in Scotland about 1898, after an absence of forty-eight years, to visit and older sister, but she died a few moments before he reached there. Mr. and Mrs. Carruthers have had born to them four children, two boys and two girls. They were born in Pierce County and educated at the district schools and the State Normal. Anna was the first child and is the wife of William P. Corcoran, a farmer of River Falls Township. They have six children-Charles, Wayne, Jessie, Anna, Ethel and Edra. Edwin P. is the second child and resides in South Dakota. Meade D. resides at home. Jennie is the wife of William F. Phillips and lives at Winona, Minn. They have two children Blake Spencer and Faith Elizabeth. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
CASS, Rachael, Mrs. is a native of England, born in 1848. In 1853 she was brought to this country by her parents, who settled at once in Beloit, Wis., moving to River Falls Township while their daughter was still a young girl. Mrs. Cass' maiden name was Rachael Lovell, daughter of Richard Lovell and Sarah Lovell. She received her education in the schools of River Falls Township and remained on the home farm with her parents until 1884, when she married Edwin Cass, to whom she was a faithful and devoted wife. Mrs. Cass is a woman of strong character and is much revered by all who know her as a woman of much sound sense and good judgment. Her husband, Edwin Cass, was born in New York in 1831, receiving his education in that state and remaining there for the greater part of his life. He came to River Falls in 1871 and in 1876 purchased a farm of eighty acres in Fargo, afterward selling it. He was well liked and his death in 1906 was deeply mourned by a wide circle of friends. Clarence Cass, son of Edwin and Rachael Cass, was born on the old homestead in 1885. He now runs the farm, carrying on general farming and stock raising. Like his father before him, he is a Republican in politics. The homestead farm consists of forty acres of good land on section 16, River Falls Township, a gift to Mrs. Cass from her father. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
CHAPMAN, Arthur E., was born at Hudson, St. Croix County, Wis., August 30, 1863. He was educated at the district schools of Troy Township and the State Normal at River Falls. He is a son of Lyman N. and Mary (Scott) Chapman, the former a native of Maine and the latter of Pennsylvania. His father came to Wisconsin in 1858 and located at Hudson, Wis. He was a wagon maker and followed that trade at Hudson until his marriage. In 1862 he purchased a farm in Troy Township, St. Croix County, which had previously belonged to his father-in-law. This farm consisted of some 320 acres, but he was the owner of about 600 acres, and here he lived until within about eight years of his death. He moved to River Falls, Wis., and led a retired life and died in 1902, at the age of seventy-one years. His widow is still living at her residence in River Falls. She is the mother of nine children, eight of whom survive. Arthur E. is the oldest of the children. Our subject remained on the old home farm until he was twenty-five years of age. He then married and purchased 150 acres of the Day farm, which his father owned. This he farmed for some time and then sold it and bought another place in this vicinity and farmed it until he moved to River Falls, about 1900. He took up the business of a plumber and is located on South Main Street. He is one of the trustees of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In politics he is a Republican. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. and the Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. Chapman married Minnie White, June 6, 1888. She was born in River Falls township, Pierce county, and a daughter of Fletcher and Catherine (Taylor) White. Her father was a farmer and an early settler of Pierce County. Mrs. Chapman was educated in the district schools and the State Normal. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Six children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Chapman in the order named: Ethrel, Lloyd, Mabel, Floy, Lola and Harvey. The mother of Mr. Chapman was born April 1, 1837. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
CHESEBRO, James S., who comes of a long-lived family, was born at Maxson Hill, Wis., February 10, 1850, son of Samuel F. and Delia (Ives) Chesebro, the former of whom was born near Albany, N.Y., in 1825, and the latter in the western part of New York in 1823. Samuel F. was the next to the youngest of twelve children, nine of whom lived to be over seventy-five years of age. He was killed in a runaway, March 4, 1876, and his widow survived him several years, passing to her eternal reward May 7, 1885. James S. moved to Clifton Hollow with his parents at the age of four years, and later came to h is present place on section 6, Clifton Township, where he owns 190 acres of good land, 130 being in a high stage of cultivation. His early education was received in the public schools of this county, and his experience as a farmer was gained with his father on the old homestead, where James S. now makes his home. Mr. Chesebro was married December 29, 1874, to Emma Lewis, born in 1855, daughter of Calvin and Ann Vincent) Lewis, the former of whom was born in 1823 and the latter of whom was born in 1825 and died in1857. Mrs. Chesebro came to this section of the state in 1864. Mr. Chesebro is a Republican in politics, but has never sought public office. (Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909) Submitted by Pat Casey.
CHINNOCK ,John N. was born near Bloomfield, Ohio, in 1847, son of James Hobbs Chinnock and Eleanor Wilheim Chinnock, who were among the earliest settlers in this part of the country. The father was born in England and came to New York in 1844, being married in 1845. His wife was a Pennsylvania woman, raised in the Mohawk valley, being of mixed German and English ancestry. He followed the farming and dairying business practically all his life after coming to this country. His trip westward was a long and laborious one. From Ohio to Chicago he came most of the way by team and then crossed Lake Michigan in a boat. When he settled at Brookville, Wis., in the St. Croix valley, there were but two houses between River Falls and Brookville. Railroads were, of course, an undreamed of possibility for this part of the country in those days, and the larger part of the traffic and commerce of the northwest was by steamboats of the great waterways. There were twelve children in the family; on son and one daughter are deceased, and John N. has nine living brothers, all of whom have attained success and respect in their several communities. John N. followed the fortunes of his parents, coming to Glass Valley, Pierce County, at the age of fifteen years. He grew up on the farm and attended the distric schools, afterward taking up farming for a living. He now owns ninety-eight acres in section fifteen, and also operates ninety-two acres in addition to his own. He is independent in politics and has been a school director for eight years. Mr. Chinnock was married in 1884 to Mary J. Wood, born in Brookville, St. Croix County, Wisconsin, in 1858, daughter of Henry and Ann (Bucklin) Wood, the latter an Englishwoman and the former a Vermonter, who settled in the St. Croix Valley in 1859. Mr. and Mrs. Chinnock have no children. (Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909). Submitted by Pat Casey.
CHURCHILL, WILBUR, merchant, Rock Elm, Pierce county, was born in Brook- field, Waukesha county, Wis., January 22, 1857. His grandfather, David Churchill, was a native of England, and had three sons: David, Hervey and Otis. Otis Churchill was born in Boston, January 12, 1805, and when seven years old, removed with his parents to New York. May 31, 1831, he married Mary Russell, who bore him five children: Eliza, David H., Mary J., Ruth A. and James. Mrs. Mary Churchill died May 10, 1842, and Mr. Churchill after- ward married Belinda Russell, who bore him seven children: William O., Wesley R., Mary S., Sarah J., Harriet M., Franklin B., and Wilbur T. Mrs. Belinda Churchill died June 18, 1859, and Mr. Churchill again married, December 17, 1862, the lady of his choice being Mary L. Pomeroy. In 1856, Mr. Churchill came to Brookfield, Wis., where he kept a store. In 1863, he sold out, intending to move to Nebraska, but on reaching St. Joseph, Mo., he found public sentiment unfavorable to northern people and went to Vineland, N. J. In 1864 he returned to Milwaukee, Wis., and in 1867 came to Rock Elm, and purchased a farm, where he resided until his death, September 16, 1886. He had been a member of the Methodist church since his twenty-second year. At the age of ten years Wilbur T. came to Rock Elm township, Pierce county, which was then a wilderness. The family had but four dollars in cash when they arrived here, and flour then cost ten dollars per hundred weight. Our subject worked on the farm, and later on the C., M. & St. P. R. R. as fireman and baggage-master. In 1886 he opened a store at Rock Elm, which he still carries on. October 7, 1886, Mr. Churchill married Miss Jennie Whipp, and they have two children, Forrest W. and Harold O. In politics he is an enthusiastic republican and has held the office of postmaster since July, 1889. --Taken from the "Historical and Biographical Album of the Chippewa Valley Wisconsin.
CLAGGETT, Stephen, one of the oldest and respected farmers of St. Croix county and late resident of River Falls, Wis., died June 18, 1882. He was born in England in 1823, immigrated to the United States with his parents in 1832 and settled in Ohio, where his father engaged in farming. He was a son of Isaac and Maria (Wooley) Claggett, birth natives of England. After remaining in Ohio for fifteen or more years the family moved to Fond du Lac county, Wisconsin, and there the father engaged in farming until his death. He and his wife died here at an advanced age. The subject of this biography was educated in the schools of Ohio and after coming to Wisconsin he worked upon his father's farm. In 1854 he removed to St. Croix County with his wife and children and purchased 260 acres of land in Rush River Township, which he improved and brought under cultivation. Upon this farm he erected good and substantial buildings and finally made it one of the model farms of the county, and here he lived until 1872, engaged in general farming and stock raising. He was a prosperous and progressive man. In politics he was a Republican, but never sought or held a political office. He was a member of the Baptist church and an active church worker. Upon leaving the farm in St. Croix County he moved on to twenty acres of land just north of River Falls, Wis. He was a public-spirited man and a good and upright citizen. He was well known during his life in St. Croix County and Pierce County and was esteemed and respected by all classes of citizens. Mrs. Claggett is still living and resides in River Falls in a large and modern home, which she built about 1896. She was born in Pennsylvania and came West in 1844 with a married sister, settling in Racine County, Wisconsin. Mrs. Claggett lived with her sister and moved with her to Fond du Lac, and lived there until she was married. Her parents both died when she was but a mere child in Pennsylvania. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Claggett were born five daughters, two of whom are now living. Louisa was born at Fond du Lac. She was educated at River Falls and is now the wife of N. N. Fuller, of Larimore, N. D. He is a grain dealer and a large landowner. They have had four children. Alma is the first child and the wife of George H. Wright, merchant of Crookston, Minn. They have one child, Emmett. Emmett is the second child of N. N. fuller and is in the banking business at Grand Forks, N. D. He is married to Minnie Mix and they have two children, Jessie and Lulu. Anna is the third child and is a teacher in Duluth, Minn. Stephen Jay, the fourth child of Mr. and Mrs. Fuller, is a student in the Grand Forks College. Josephine, the second child born to Mrs. Claggett, was born in Fond du Lac, Wis., and educated at River Falls. She married Prof. E. S. Reed and they have had six children-Edwin T. is a professor in the Moorhead Normal School, near Fargo, N. D.; Robert Ray is a teacher in Stephens, Minn.; Edith, Neil, May and Charles are deceased; Ella, the third daughter, died at the age of three years and four months; Nellie Myrth; at age of one year and eleven months, and Ida Bertina, the fifth, died at River Falls at the age of nine years. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
CLARK,Steven P. was born in Vermont in 1831, son of John and Laura (Parsons) Clark, who lived in that state in the early days. He was brought up on a farm and educated in the country schools of the old Green Mountain State. Coming to this section of the country in 1854 he located at St. Croix Falls, Polk County, Wisconsin, and followed farming, which occupation has also engaged his attention in his native state. In 1873 he came to Clifton Township, Pierce County, and purchased 120 acres of land on section eight. This farm he has cultivated successfully, becoming one of the honored and respected residents of the township, one whose honor and integrity are a model for the younger generation. He is a Republican in politics, but has never sought public office. His faith is that of the Methodist Church. Mr. Clark was married in 1869 to May Knight, a native of Franklin County, New York, who came to this locality three years after her brother, who was one of the founders of Clifton township. This union has resulted in four children: Wallace resides in Dakota. Herman resides on the old homestead, which he operates. He has recently purchased eighty acres of his own in addition. Mrs. Alice Maples lives in Clifton Township, and Mrs. Ida Parma lives in Minnesota. (Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909) Submitted by Pat Casey.
CLIFFORD, John, was born in County Cork, Ireland, in 1824, and upon coming to America settled in Vermont for a short time, afterward coming to Pierce County, where he died in 1904, being buried in the Roman Catholic church cemetery in River Falls, Wis. His wife died in 1898 and is laid at rest in the same cemetery. They were the parents of seven children, six boys and one girl. William lives in St. Paul; John is mentioned below; Mary married John Doty, of St. Paul, and is now deceased; Patrick is on the home farm; Timothy died in 1899 and is buried in the cemetery at River Falls, where his parents are interred; Michael is in the state of Washington, and Daniel is on the home farm. Mr. Clifford was a Roman Catholic in religion and a Democrat in politics. John Clifford, Jr., was born in River Falls, Pierce county, Wis., April 12, 1860, son of John and Margaret (O'Laughlin) Clifford. He was educated in the district schools and remained on the home farm until his marriage, although he had worked out some and in 1888 purchased his present farm. He was married, in 1895 in the month of June, to Mary Mognihan, daughter of Patrick and Hannah Mognihan, of River Falls, Wis. Mr. Clifford is a Democrat in politics and has been school treasurer continuously for twenty-two years, still holding that office. He is a member of the Roman Catholic church of River Falls. His farm consists of eighty acres on section 30, River Falls Township, where he carries on general farming and stock raising. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
COLLETT, JAMES, (Civil War), farmer, P. O. Rock Elm, Pierce county, was born in Bradford, England, and is one of three children born to Samuel and Hannah E. (Mortimer) Collett. His brother, George, died in London, England, and his sister, Sarah (Mrs. Bashaw), lives near Arkansaw, Wis. James Collett came to America at the age of twenty-one years, and first settled in Waukesha county, Wis., where he engaged in farming for three years. He then went to Dodge county, where he married, March 2, 1862, Miss Mary A., daughter of Levi and Angeline Holcomb. He then removed to his present home and was the fourth family to locate here. The township was then a wilderness, and they were compelled to fell the heavy timber and clear up a farm. March 9, 1865 he enlisted in the Fiftieth Wisconsin volunteer infantry, and went to St. Louis, thence to Fort Rice and the Indian territory, where they fought the Indians. He was discharged June 4, 1866, returned home and took up pioneer life again. Provisions were high and hard to get. They made sugar in the spring, then joined with the neighbors and went "outside," as they termed it, and sold the sugar at eighteen cents per pound, or exchanged it for provisions, paying eight dollars per hundred weight for flour and one dollar per bushel for oats. Owing to his perseverance and hard labor he now has a well improved farm, and a good brick residence. Mr. Collett and wife are the parents of ten children, namely: Sarah J. (Mrs. Raab), living in Red Wing, Minn; Hannah E. (Mrs. Jackson), living in Olivet, Wis.; Edwin J., Minnie A., Fred L., Mattie, Albert H., William A., Hattie B. and Vida L., all living at home. In politics Mr. Collett is a republican, has served as assessor one term and as school clerk and director six years. He is a member of Custer Post, G. A. R., in which he has been adjutant, and now holds the office of quartermaster. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and enjoys the respect of a large circle of friends. --Taken from the "Historical and Biographical Album of the Chippewa Valley Wisconsin.
CURRIER, Elbridge H., was born in the town of Clifton, Pierce county, Wis., September 30, 1861, and received his education in the district schools and the State Normal. He also took a course in a business college at La Crosse, Wis. He worked on his father's farm until twenty-one years of age. At this time he began to farm for himself on sixty acres of land, which he purchased in Troy Township, St. Croix County, Wisconsin. All was under cultivation and he made this his home for ten years. Selling it at the end of this time, he rented a farm in the same township for ten years and then bought his present farm of 200 acres, 160 of it being under cultivation. He remodeled the house, which was on the old homestead of Oliver S. Powell, into a modern two-story frame dwelling, and here he has lived since. He is a member of the Congregational church and one of the trustees. Mr. Currier is a Republican in politics, but has never sought public office. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and United Order of Foresters. Mr. Currier was married to Lucy May Powell, December 1, 1883. She was born in River Falls, Wis., and is a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Oliver S. Powell, early settlers of Pierce County. Mrs. Currier was educated in the High School and the State Normal at River Falls and Carlton College, at Northfield, Minn. She had five children, born in order named: Joseph died at the age of thirteen years; Elmira Phoebe is a graduate of the State Normal and is a teacher in the public schools of Galesville, Wis.; Margaret, Helen May and Edward Haines are attending the State Normal. Mr. Currier resides just on the edge of the city of River Falls, Wis. Daniel W. Currier, the father of Elbridge Currier, was born September 11, 1824, in New Hampshire, and grew to manhood there. He came to Wisconsin from Lowell, Mass., where he had resided for a number of years, settling about two miles west of River Falls in 1856. He engaged in farming and became a large property holder, and gave each of his five boys a farm in the neighborhood. His wife was born June 17, 1825, in the state of Maine, and moved to Lowell, Mass., where she was married, and where she and her husband worked in the cotton mills for some years. She died on the home farm in River Falls Township, January 31, 1892. She and her husband were members of the Baptist church. Daniel W. Currier moved to the city of River Falls five years before his death, which occurred in April 1898. He was twice married; his second wife was Mrs. Julia Hultz, who died about four years after her marriage. There were seven children born, but one died in infancy. The living are Daniel Albert, John F., Walter B., Elbridge, George and Ann A., wife of John Elliott. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
NEXT ("C" - page two))