BIOGRAPHIES: SURNAMES BEGINNING WITH "A"
(To enlarge a Biography, highlight, cut & paste to a document form. highlight & select font setting)
ADAMS, James F. (Civil War) is a native of Illinois, born in Pike county, August 5, 1835. Here he was educated and worked on his father's farm until nineteen years of age. In 1854 his father settled on section 3, Trenton township, where he purchased nearly 200 acres of farm land. James came to Wisconsin with his parents, Jeremiah and Mary (Seeley) Adams. His father was born in New York State, and his mother in Illinois. When Jeremiah Adams moved west and settled in Illinois he engaged in farming in Pike County, and also worked a the cooper's trade. The farm he bought was wild land; he broke it up and brought it under cultivation, and there lived until within a few years of his death. He died in 1890 at Trenton, Wis., when he was eighty years old, and is buried at the side of his wife, who died about ten years before, in 1880. They were members of the Presbyterian Church. They were the parents of nine children, six of whom are now living. Our subject remained at home until he was twenty-two years of age. He then bought forty acres from his father and farmed until 1863, when he enlisted in Company I, Twelfth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, and served until the close of the Civil war. He took part in many a hard fought battle, being in twelve important engagements. He was discharged at Louisville, Ky., in 1865, and then returned to his home in Trenton township and took up farming for a short time, until he purchased his present farm in Hartland township, where he has lived ever since, engaged in general farming and stock raising. He has one of the model farms of the county. He has now given his son one-half of his farm and has erected a fine dwelling for him and his family. Mr. Adams is a member of the Ellsworth Post, No. 118, and the Masonic order. He is a Republican in politics and a member of the Presbyterian Church, of which he was elder and treasurer fifteen years. Mr. Adams was united in marriage to Rebecca C. Gilmore, daughter of John and Catherine Gilmore. Mrs. Adams was born in Ohio and educated there. By this union four children were born to wit: Marcella was the wife of John Turner, of Harland township; she died at the age of twenty-four and left two children, James and Alexander; Anna married Manly Weyte, of Tacoma, Wash., and they have five children, Myrtle, Marcella, Arthur, Lyla and Ella. John was drowned at the Sea Wing disaster, July 13, 1900. He was twenty years old at the time of his death. James resides on part of the home farm. He married Nellie Bennett and they have three children, Clara, Raymond and Marshall. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909).
ADAMS, J.P. was born in 1832 in Williamston, Orange county, Vt., son of Parker and Salome (Perry) Adams, the former born in 1795 in Connecticut, and died in 1853, and the latter born in 1798. They were married in 1815 in Vermont, and had four sons: Perry was born in 1827, and died in 1829. Parker was born in 1822, farmed in Vermont and died in 1872. J. P. is the subject of this sketch. Charles was born in 1824 and died in 1868. J. P. Adams was brought up on the farm, and received his education in the common schools. He came to Pierce County in 1856, settling first at River Falls, where he remained for twenty years. In 1876 he came to his present location of 200 acres on section 9, River Falls Township. He has a well-cultivated farm, and some good buildings, carrying on general farming and stock raising. He is a Republican in politics and has been in a member of the twon board for four years. Mr. Adams was married in 1857 to Jane H. Flint, of Vermont, the marriage being performed in Prescott, Pierce County, Wis. This union has resulted in five children: Forest was born in 1858, married Dave Frazier in 1876, and died in 1908. Grover Julius was born in 1860, and now lives in Kinnickinnic township. Abbie married Henry McMahon in 1881. Warren was born in 1865, and lives on the home farm. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
AKERS, Wiliam D., postmaster, Spring Valley, Pierce county, is a son of Peter Akers, who was born in Lynchburg, Va., in 1799, and Maria Eliza, daughter of John and Eleanor Farris. Two children were born to them: John B. and William D., the latter September 12, 1820, in Flemingsburg, Fleming county, Ky. When about four years of age he had the misfortune to lose his mother, so went to live with his grandmother, and received a common-school education. When twenty-two years of age he came to Wisconsin, and worked in the lead mines for sixteen years, then, tiring of that, he moved to Red Wing, Minn., and went to farming. He married, at Dubuque, Iowa, Mary A., daughter of Elisha and Mary Hodgdon, and four children have been born to them: Virginia A. (Mrs. Vanasse), Julia L. (Mrs. Biedle), Peter and William, all living in Spring Valley. After staying in Minnesota for seven years, he came to Pierce county, Wis., and commenced to clear up a farm in the heavy timber and make a home. He worked in the timber two years, then sold out and went to what is now known as Olivet, stayed there a short time, then built a store in the center of Spring Lake township, being the fifth family to settle in the township. Three years later he moved to Spring Valley, and engaged in business and was appointed postmaster. A few years later he had the mis- fortune to burn out, but his neighbors, like true pioneers, took hold, and soon had a new house put up, and he has since prospered. He has been postmaster for the past seventeen years, and is a notary public. Politically he is a republican, and has been elected to various offices, always discharging his duties satisfactorily to all. In religious matters he is a spiritualist. --Taken from the "Historical and Biographical Album of the Chippewa Valley Wisconsin.
ANDREWS, A.D., M. D.,(Civil War) was born in Maine, September 21, 1830. He graduated at the Chicago Medical College in 1861, and the following year was commissioned assistant surgeon of the Sixth Wisconsin Infantry of the famous Iron Brigade, with which he served up to the battle of Gettysburg. After retiring from the army he came to River Falls and engaged in milling, which he continued successfully until he retired in 1880. In 1878 he was elected state senator. He was appointed a regent of the Fourth State Normal School in 1877. He was serving as mayor of River Falls at the time of his death, July 23, 1885. Reference: Taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909
AUSTERUD, John P., a prosperous and progressive farmer now residing on section 25, Martell township, was born in the parish of Modum, Norway, November 26, 1855, son of Peder and Oline (Anderson) Austerud. The father was a farmer in Norway, but for several years served in the Royal army, ranking as corporal. Upon coming to this country in 1861, accompanied by his family, he located in Nicolett County, Minnesota, and then took up his residence in Pierce County with his wife's brother in the northern part of the township of Martell. On year later he purchased the present homestead. Peder Austerud passed away in 1903 at the age of seventy-seven years, eight months and four days, and his wife ended her days February 28, 1908, by a remarkable coincidence, having reached exactly the same age as her honored husband. John P. came to this country with his parents at the age of about five years. He received his preliminary education in the common schools and then attended the River Falls Academy, or institute as it was more properly called, afterward entering the River Falls Normal School. In 1880 he registered at Luther College, at Decorah, Ia., in the teachers class, which was established there at that time. The teachers course which he took was discontinued in 1883, and its place was taken by a course at Sioux Falls, S. D., where a building was erected for teachers under the supervision of the Norwegian Synod. When about twenty years of age he began his profession as public school teacher. His first five terms were taught in his home district, No. 3, in the little red school house which is still standing, but which is now used for private library purposes. He also taught the first term in the new school house, which was erected several years ago. In St. Croix County he taught four terms at Eau Galle and one term in Clay county, Minnesota. At various times he has taught in all seventeen years of school, and the pupils who have come under his tuition show the results of his painstaking and able efforts in their behalf. In 1886 he bought the old homestead where he has since continued to reside, engaging in farming and stock raising, besides teaching. He has a fine farm and aside from being a good farmer, succeeds in conducting all his affairs in a thorough and business-like manner. In politics he is a Republican. For nine years he has been town clerk, a position which he still occupies. For ten years he has been a justice-of-the-peace, has served as school director four years and held other important offices. Mr. Austerud is a stockholder in the Lawton creamery and in the Pierce County Farmers Mercantile Cooperative Company, which has its headquarters at Ellsworth. Mr. Austerud was married in 1891 to Laura B. Hagestad, daughter of the Rev. Ole J. K. Hagestad, who was a Lutheran clergyman of Martell township for some years, but who, owing to throat disease, was compelled to resign, wheupon he purchased a farm adjoining that of Mr. Austerud. He died in 1881 at the age of about forty-four years, and his wife passed to her eternal reward in 1906. Mrs. Austerud ended her days June 21, 1901, thus bringing to a close a beautiful and devoted life. She was the mother of four children - Ida O., Edna P., Orin J. and Stella M. Mr. Austerud has been a leading citizen of this section since he first took up his residence here. He takes a great interest in church matters and is a member of the Lutheran church, of which the Rev. M. Thorsen is now the pastor, Mr. Austerud being one of its devoted workers. (taken from "History of the St. Croix Valley", published in 1909).
NEXT (A - Page two)